The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-03-28 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 28, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Little Martha (3:38)
2. Done Somebody Wrong (3:50)
3. Trouble No More (3:43)
4. Rockin' Horse (20:02)
5. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (6:53)
6. Who To Believe (8:49)
7. Announcements (1:15)
8. Born Under A Bad Sign (5:06) @
9. Announcements (0:32)
10. Stormy Monday (11:00) @#
11. Come and Go Blues (7:38) #

1. Jessica (15:49) #$
2. Announcements (0:36)
3. Sugaree (16:42) %
4. I Know You Rider (20:08) %
5. Franklin's Tower (16:36) %#

1. Black Hearted Woman (11:29)
2. Mountain Jam (19:10) #
3. Crowd Noise (4:08)
4. Statesboro Blues (9:39)

@ = w/ Floyd Miles, vocals
# = w/ Chuck Leavell, keyboards
$ = w/ Paul Riddle, drums
% = w/ Bob Weir, guitar and vocals; Phil Lesh, bass


The final show of the 2009 Beacon run was one for the ages! Phil Lesh and Bob Weir of The Dead added their own psychedelic flavor to this show, and former ABB keyboardist Chuck Leavell made a triumphant guest appearance on tunes like "Jessica" and "Mountain Jam."

The core band was hittin' the note like only they can, with the extended "Rocking Horse" a first set standout. Check out the teases and jams of everything from "Third Stone From The Sun" to "Blue Sky" wrapped up in this monster version! "Who To Believe" made its first appearance of the run, with Gregg singing from the depths of his soul on this number. Gregg's old Daytona pal Floyd Miles added bluesy soul on "Born Under A Bad Sign" and "Stormy Monday," and Chuck Leavell finished off the first set with a version of "Jessica" that stands with the best ever.

The second set was the Allmans meets the Dead, with fascinating results. This version of "Sugaree" is dripping with soul, and Chuck comes back out to lend his keyboard skills to an incendiary "Franklin's Tower." Leavell also joined the band for a ferocious "Mountain Jam" that ended the second set in style, before an extended "Statesboro Blues" encore finally ended the show at 12:38 AM, some four hours after it started!


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store