The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-05-19 Live at The Greek Theatre, Los Angeles CA, May 19, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Don't Want You No More (2:53)
2. It's Not My Cross To Bear (5:09)
3. Statesboro Blues (4:56)
4. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (4:21)
5. Rockin' Horse (14:15)
6. Midnight Rider (3:26)
7. You Don't Love Me (7:46) @
8. New Instrumental (10:16)
9. Stage Banter (0:38)
10. The Sky Is Crying (10:18) #

1. Introductions (0:36)
2. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (5:08) $
3. Highway 61 Revisited (7:26) $
4. Dreams (11:14)
5. Whipping Post (16:49)
6. Crowd Noise (3:16)
7. Southbound (10:14) @#

@ = w/ Bruce Willis, harmonica
# = w/ Benmont Tench, piano
$ = w/ Tom Petty, guitar and vocals; Mike Campbell, guitar; Benmont Tench, piano


The Allman Brothers Band's most significant West Coast tour in years cruised into LA for the first of two shows at the Greek Theater, and with a little help from their friends, the ABB turned in another scorching hot show!

The combo of "Don't Want You No More/It's Not My Cross To Bear" is always a great way to open any show, and "Rocking Horse" continues to grow into a song that is a highlight every time it is played. The guest factor kicked in halfway through the set when Bruce Willis came out to blow a mean blues harp on "You Don't Love Me." Bruce would return for the "Southbound" encore as well. Derek's song known only as "New Instrumental" is given a great reading here, and the fact that it is showing up so often in the setlist must mean that the band thinks this jazzy piece is a keeper!

Tom Petty, along with Benmont Tench and Mike Campbell of the Heartbreakers, joins the band towards the end of the show for a great mini-Dylan set, featuring great versions of "Highway 61 Revisited" and "It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry." However, just as at the Beacon, some of the best magic came without guests on spectacular versions of "Dreams" and "Whipping Post." Hot stuff!


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals




Search our store