The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-08-26 Live at Bethel Woods, Bethel, NY, August 26, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (3:56)
2. No One To Run With (9:53)
3. End Of The Line (7:06)
4. 44 Blues (12:19) @
5. Announcement (1:43)
6. Highway 61 Revisited (8:22) #$%
7. Dreams (11:16)
8. Soulshine (7:25)

1. The Same Thing (12:53) ^&%
2. Franklin's Tower (10:57) ^*+
3. Leave My Blues At Home (2:24)
4. JaMaBuBu (6:12)
5. Leave My Blues At Home - reprise (4:44)
6. Jessica (12:37)
7. Crowd Noise (2:26)
8. Melissa (5:39)
9. You Don't Love Me (8:30)

@ = w/Bruce Katz, piano
# = w/ John Bell, guitar and vocals
$ = w/ John "JoJo" Hermann, keyboards
% = w/ Tony Coleman, drums
^ = w/ Danny Louis, keyboards
& = w/ Jay Collins, saxophone
* = w/ Jimmy Herring, guitar
+ = w/ Domingo "Sunny" Ortiz and Sean Pretto, percussion


Just days after the 40th Anniversary of the Woodstock festival, the Allman Brothers Band and Widespread Panic paid a visit to the original Woodstock site. This great ABB show must have summoned some of the spirits of 1969, because it's a scorcher!

Like many of the shows on this tour, special guests abound at this show. The wicked "44 Blues" is made even bluesier by some sweet piano riffs by Bruce Katz of Gregg Allman and Friends, plus the tight pocket of BB King sideman Tony Coleman on drums. "Highway 61 Revisited" has Panic's lead singer John Bell and keyboardist John "JoJo" Hermann contributing to the groove. Widespread guitarist Jimmy Herring, a former member of The Dead, got to flex his muscles on a jammed out version of the Grateful Dead classic "Franklin's Tower," which built to an incredible peak. This version of "The Same Thing," featuring keyboardist Danny Louis from Gov't Mule and saxman Jay Collins from Gregg Allman and Friends, isn't fooling around either!

This show took place on the anniversary of Allen Woody's death, with Warren dedicating the show to his memory. Warren definitely gave a little extra for his fallen brother--check out these passionate versions of "Soulshine" and "The Same Thing" to hear Mr. Haynes digging deep.

The show closing "Jessica" was an explosion of joyful noise, capping off a terrific set by the ABB. The double encore of "Melissa" and "You Don't Love Me" covered both ends of the spectrum, from a tender love song to a ferocious rocker, showing the range of the greatest live band on Earth.


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals




Search our store