The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-10-10 Live at Jefferson County Civic Center, Birmingham, AL, October 10, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Midnight Rider (5:28)
2. Trouble No More (3:36)
3. Can’t Lose What You Never Had (6:38)
4. You Don’t Love Me (7:28)
5. Soulshine (7:34)
6. Stand Back (6:46)
7. Announcements (0:34)
8. And It Stoned Me 6:10 @
9. Revival (14:26)

1. Statesboro Blues (4:42)
2. Mountain Jam (11:46)
3. Smokestack Lightning (5:17) $
4. JaMaBuBu (11:16)
5. Mountain Jam - reprise (6:50)
6. Crowd Noise (2:48)
7. Black Hearted Woman (11:11)

@ = w/ John Bell, guitar and vocals; James Van De Bogert, drums
$ = w/ Col. Bruce Hampton, vocals


For the second of two shows in Birmingham, opening the show in front of a strongly pro-Panic crowd, the ABB showed why they are still the Heavyweight Champion of Jam Rock!

This show started on a bluesy note, with a killer version of the rarely played Muddy Waters tune "Can't Lose What You Never Had" standing out. "You Don't Love Me" has been in heavy rotation on this tour, and this version shows why, the whole band hittin' the note and laying in the groove. John Bell of Widespread Panic adds his distinctive vocal touch to the Van Morrison classic "And It Stoned Me," and this version of "Revival" stretches out and goes unusual places.

However, the "Mountain Jam>Smokestack Lightning>JaMaBuBu>Mountain Jam" sequence is what really sets this show apart. Over 30 minutes of musical bliss! After rocking the first half of "Mountain Jam," the band glides effortlessly into the laid-back blues groove of "Smokestack Lightning." Jamband legend Col. Bruce Hampton whipped the crowd into a frenzy with his passionate vocals, as if he was channeling the spirit of Howlin' Wolf himself! Then, after a great bass and drums segment, the band comes charging into the second half of "Mountain Jam" and Derek reaches for the stars on the famous slide solo that so many fans know from the Eat A Peach version. Best "Mountain Jam" of 2009? You be the judge!

"Black Hearted Woman" is rarely played as an encore, but after this show, maybe it should be! This powerhouse version is like a runaway train, building momentum constantly until the heart-stopping climax and setting a very high bar for Widespread Panic's closing set. Oh yeah!


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals




Search our store