The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-10-17 Live at Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion, Houston, TX, October 17, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Revival (11:19)
2. Done Somebody Wrong (3:44)
3. Rockin' Horse (17:26)
4. You Don't Love Me (7:09)
5. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (7:44) @#
6. The Sky Is Crying (10:47)
7. Announcements (0:22)
8. Franklin's Tower (12:06) $#

1. Black Hearted Woman (10:16)
2. Announcements (0:24)
3. Dreams % (14:23)
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (17:36) $
5. Crowd Noise (1:08)
6. Southbound (7:45) &

@ = w/ John Bell, guitar and vocals
# = w/ Sunny Ortiz, percussion
$ = w/ Jimmy Herring, guitar
% = w/ Dave Schools, bass
& = w/ entire Widespread Panic band: John Bell, JoJo Hermann (keyboards), Sunny Ortiz, Jimmy Herring, Dave Schools, Todd Nance (drums)


For the final stop of their legendary co-headlining tour with Widespread Panic, you would expect the Allman Brothers Band to pull out all the stops, and you would be right! A great Panic set with Warren sitting in on Bill Withers' "Use Me" and Neil Young's "Cortez The Killer" set a high bar for the night, but the ABB rose to the challenge, as they always do.

This tour has felt like a revival, so "Revival" was an appropriate opener. Once again "Rockin' Horse" is a highlight, as this song seems to grow stronger each time it is played lately. "You Don't Love Me" is some down and dirty blues, with Gregg belting out the vocal as only he can.

Since this was the last ABB/Panic show, this was one more opportunity to play some of the songs that the Panic guys guested on throughout the tour. "Gilded Splinters" is one song that both bands play, so it was an obvious choice for collaboration, and yielded many great versions on this tour, but none hotter than this one! Likewise, Jimmy Herring's history with The Dead made "Franklin's Tower" a logical choice, and he tears up the Grateful Dead classic at this show with his inimitable guitar style.

Widespread Panic bassist Dave Schools adds bass to a thunderous "Dreams" that swoops and soars over the audience on wings of pure joy. Jimmy returns to the stage for another song that was a frequent jamming vehicle on this tour, "In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed." Jimmy's jazzy style fits this song so well, and this version is a knockout!

How to end such an epic tour? With all 13 members of both bands on stage jamming to "Southbound," of course! This is the logical extension of all the interplay between the bands on this tour, and caps off a great night and a great tour with plenty of fireworks.



The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals




Search our store