The Allman Brothers Band: 2010-03-19 Live at United Palace, New York, NY, March 19, 2010

$ 14.95



1. Hot 'Lanta (5:16)
2. Gilded Splinters (6:29)
3. Trouble No More (3:47)
4. Rockin' Horse (16:05)
5. Wasted Words (8:07)
6. Soulshine (9:17) @ #
7. Good Morning Little School Girl (13:32) @
8. Kind Of Bird (15:49) @

1. Midnight Rider (8:17)
2. Meet Me (At The Bottom) (14:09) $ &
3. Dreams (12:16)
4. Anyday (10:19)

1. Stormy Monday (9:46) %
2. Jessica (13:37) *
3. JaMaBuBu > (12:09)
4. Jessica (5:25)
5. Crowd noise (2:53)
6. One Way Out (5:59) $

@ = w/ Danny Louis, keyboards
# = w/ James Van De Bogert, drums
$ = w/ Doyle Bramhall, guitar
& = w/ Justin Stanley, drums
% = w/ Junior Mack, guitar
* = w/ Kris Jensen, sax


The next-to-last show at the United Palace showed the band reaching deep and hitting a new level!  Even the most jaded veteran fan had to acknowledge that this show was special by the time it was over.

For starters, how about a first set so jam-packed it won't fit on one CD?  The "Hot'Lanta" opener and "Gilded Splinters" to follow showed that the band meant business, crisp and tight and hittin' the note right out of the gate!  This version of "Rockin' Horse" was nothing less than amazing, featuring some of both Warren and Derek's finest work.  This song has grown into a jam masterpiece, and is a routine highlight every time it appears.  "Wasted Words" got its' Palace debut here, and showed the band still bringing out new songs late in the run.  Gregg is roaring the blues on this one! The combo of "Soulshine" and "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" gave Warren a chance to really shine on vocals.

Speaking of Warren, a tune he co-wrote with Dickey Betts called "Kind of Bird" was one of the highlights of this show.  Jazzy, swinging and rocking all at the same time, Danny Louis of Gov't Mule added a lot on keyboards, and Oteil is a madman on the bass!  The new, extended jam arrangement of "Midnight Rider" closed out the first set, and opened Disc Two of this marathon show, with Derek soaring to the stars during an expanded slide solo.

The second set kicked off with a bang, with Doyle Bramhall sitting in on a version of "Meet Me In The Bottom" that is full of great guitar licks and funky grooves.  This "Dreams" is nothing less than spectacular, with one of Derek's finest solos.  If the first set was Warren-heavy, Derek really took the reins in the second set!  The Derek and the Dominoes classic "Anyday" was another spectacular jam, and "Stormy Monday" with Junior Mack on guitar was a master class in the blues, and showed Gregg's voice at its very best.

An explosive "Jessica" featured Kris Jensen on sax, giving the song a different flair, and Doyle Bramhall came back for a combustible "One Way Out" encore.  Another great night of Peakin' at the Palace!


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store