The Allman Brothers Band: 2011-03-18 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 18, 2011

$ 14.95



1. Don't Want You No More (2:46)
2. It's Not My Cross To Bear (5:16)
3. Done Somebody Wrong (3:57)
4. Blind Willie McTell (7:56)
5. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (7:52)
6. Coming Home (6:33) @
7. That Did It (6:37) @
8. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (6:39) #
9. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (18:37) #

1. Dreams (12:25)
2. Come And Go Blues (6:59)
3. Soulshine (7:51)
4. Come On Into My Kitchen (5:58)

1. 44 Blues (12:46)
2. Mountain Jam (17:10) #
3. JaMaBuBu (13:25)
4. Mountain Jam - reprise (11:51) #
5. Crowd noise (2:44)
6. Introduction (0:19)
7. One Way Out (7:01) %

@ = w/Susan Tedeschi, guitar and vocals
# = w/ John Scofield, guitar
$ = w/ James van de Bogert, drums
% = w/ Junior Mack, guitar

The second Friday of the 2011 Beacon run was full of hot jams, bluesy flavor, and two very special guests.

After opening with "Don't Want You No More>It's Not My Cross To Bear," the band settled into a bluesy groove with "Done Somebody Wrong" and "Blind Willie McTell." Midway through the first set, the lovely and talented Susan Tedeschi Trucks took the stage, adding her soulful vocals and ripping guitar leads to the ABB's potent brew. After a great version of Delaney and Bonnie's "Coming Home" Susan and Derek gave a preview of one of the songs on their upcoming album, "That Did It."

No sooner had Susan left the stage to great applause than legendary jazz guitarist John Scofield joined the ABB. From his days with Miles Davis onward, Scofield has been a highly respected musician, and he lived up to his legend at this show. His bluesy riffs perfectly fit Dylan's "It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry," but when he got to step out on "Liz Reed" he was really in his element. That would close the first set, but Scofield would be back.

A potent "Dreams" kicked off the second set in style, and a bluesy combo of "Come On In My Kitchen" and "44 Blues" was a highlight. Just when you thought Scofield was done for the night, he came back on stage for an epic, extended "Mountain Jam"! Warren and Derek have both played with Scofield in the past--he played on and co-wrote "Sco-Mule" with Gov't Mule, for example--and the interplay between all three guitarists here was mesmerizing.

Add in a scorching "One Way Out" encore, with both Susan and Junior Mack from Jaimoe's Jasssz Band tearing it up on guitar, and you have another great night of music at the Beacon!

The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store