The Allman Brothers Band: 2011-03-12 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 12, 2011

$ 14.95


Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review


1. Statesboro Blues (5:57)
2. Done Somebody Wrong (3:58)
3. Stormy Monday (9:33)
4. You Don't Love Me (12:41)
5. Hot 'Lanta (5:34)
6. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (18:05)
7. Whipping Post (15:22)

1. Mountain Jam (13:33)
2. Trouble No More (3:55)
3. The Sky Is Crying (13:22)
4. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (5:49) @

1. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (9:35) @
2. Every Hungry Woman (5:02)
3. JaMaBuBu (11:27)
4. Every Hungry Woman - reprise (3:30)
5. Mountain Jam - reprise (6:42)
6. Crowd noise (3:19)
7. No One To Run With (6:04)

@ = w/ David Hidalgo, guitar and vocals

The Allman Brothers Band celebrated the 40th Anniversary of the recording of At Fillmore East by playing that classic album in sequence as their opening set. The show began after a clip was played of Duane speaking from the original show, saying "Hope this comes out alright, we're cutting our 3rd Album tonight!" then "Okay The Allman Brothers Band!!"

Derek Trucks played Duane Allman's 1957 Les Paul "Goldtop" for much of the set, summoning up extra mojo from the classic instrument. Gregg's vocals sound fantastic here, and the whole band digs down extra deep to pay homage to the greatest live album in the history of rock music.

The entire album was sublime, but the band hit another gear on "Elizabeth Reed" and "Whipping Post," two of the greatest songs in the ABB catalog. These versions may not have matched the legendary Fillmore East versions, but they were burning with the same passion and intensity that made the originals such classics.

After that amazing display, the band followed up with an appropriately old-school second set, full of blues classics and without a single song written after 1969. David Hidalgo of Los Lobos got a chance to play Duane's Goldtop on "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'" and a smoking hot, down and dirty "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl," adding his own guitar style to the ABB mix. Check out Warren on "The Sky Is Crying" at this show, hittin' the note indeed! He dedicated the tune to the late Eddie Kirkland, a blues legend from Macon, Georgia. The entire second set was bracketed by "Mountain Jam," and Warren got his turn on the Goldtop for hte dreamy slide solo in the set-closing reprise.

For the encore, the band played a lean and mean "No One To Run With," which only seemed appropriate after such an impressive display. Images of Redog were spashed up on the scrren along with Brother Duane, Berry and their road buddies. Once again, the ABB have confirmed their status as the best live band in the land, with no plans to give up the title any time soon.

Happy 40th Anniversary to At Fillmore East, and God Bless the Allman Brothers Band!

The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store