The Allman Brothers Band: 2010-03-11 Live at United Palace, New York, NY, March 11, 2010

$ 14.95



1. Don't Keep Me Wondering (6:24)
2. Hot'Lanta (5:36)
3. Statesboro Blues (5:57)
4. That's What Love Will Make You Do (6:49)
5. No One To Run With (10:14)
6. Desdemona (12:38)
7. Every Hungry Woman (8:17)
8. And It Stoned Me (5:37)
9. Kind of Bird (14:09)

1. Melissa (6:12)
2. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City (5:18)
3. Come And Go Blues (6:42)
4. Rockin' Horse (14:53)

1. Black Hearted Woman > (2:46)
2. JaMaBuBu (11:59)
3. Black Hearted Woman (6:47)
4. Jessica (16:04)
5. Crowd (2:31)
6. Preachin' Blues (4:55)
7. One Way Out (6:01)


For their first show of 2010, the Allman Brothers Band pulled out all the stops!  This one included a debut, a bustout of a song they haven't played since the early 90's, and only the second-ever ABB version of "Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City."  Even more important, the band sounded great, and the show featured several jams where they were truly hittin' the note!

The jazzy instrumental "Kind Of Bird" hadn't been played since 1992, perhaps the longest gap between performances of any ABB song, and it's return appearance was a triumphant one!  One of the most sophisticated tunes in the ABB songbook, Derek and Warren really delivered on this one. 

The Little Milton classic "That's What Love Will Make You Do" was a staple for the Jerry Garcia Band, and Warren has played it with the Mule, but it had never graced an ABB setlist before this show.  Better late than never!  The funky groove on this version cooks, and Warren belts out the blues as only he can.

Speaking of belting the blues, how about Gregg Allman on "Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City"?  The band played this with Boz Scaggs at the Beacon last year, but Gregg's voice seems to have an extra roar on this version.  Another tune that would be welcome in the setlist rotation.

And of course, the band really soared on the long jams like "Jessica" and "Black Hearted Woman," showing no rust at all and playing with dynamics.  "Rockin' Horse" included a tasty "Blue Sky" tease among many jams in an epic version, and "Desdemona" was soothing and soulful, yet burning with anguish at the same time.

And that was just opening night!


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store