The Allman Brothers Band: 2008-08-20 Live at New England Dodge Music Center, Hartford, CT, August 20, 2008

$ 14.95



1. Southbound (5:30)
2. Hot 'Lanta (5:20)
3. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (4:35)
4. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (4:40)
5. The Same Thing (11:11) *
6. Gambler's Roll (10:59)
7. Who's Been Talking (12:48)

1. Mountain Jam (14:49) #
2. JaMaBuBu (12:33) $
3. Mountain Jam (reprise) (8:18)
4. Crowd (2:33)
5. Whipping Post (15:38)

* w/ Kenny Brooks, sax
# w/ Jeff Chimenti, keyboards
$ w/ Jay Lane, drums
This show started off with a hot combo of "Southbound" and "Hot'Lanta" and never looked back! Bob Dylan's "It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry" was played for the second time on the tour, confirming that this great song is a keeper, and Kenny Brooks of Ratdog added some soulful sax to "The Same Thing."
However, the real story here is the classic combo of "Mountain Jam" and "Whipping Post" to close the show. This has been a popular 1-2 punch to close ABB shows since the Fillmore days, and with good reason! Jeff Chimenti and Jay Lane of Ratdog contributed to a massive, intense 40-minute "Mountain Jam" that may be the longest of recent years, and definitely one of the best, with a hot jam on "Smokestack Lightning" thrown in for good measure. "Whipping Post" was played for the second time in three shows, a sure sign that Gregg is feeling better and ready to rock, and this version packs a powerful punch. Great stuff! 


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store