The Allman Brothers Band: 2008-10-10 Live at Chastain Park, Atlanta GA, October 10, 2008

$ 14.95



1. Don't Want You No More (2:38)
2. Cross To Bear (5:00)
3. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (6:34)
4. Statesboro Blues (5:43)
5. Woman Across The River (9:05)
6. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (4:42)
7. Southbound (8:13)
8. Revival (11:02)
9. The Sky Is Crying (10:06)
10. Les Bres In A Minor (13:09)

1. Melissa (6:21)
2. Trouble No More (3:46)
3. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (11:57)
4. Stand Back (6:33)
5. Dreams (11:50)

1. Mountain Jam > (10:42)
2. JaMaBuBu > (11:25)
3. Mountain Jam (reprise) (8:43)
4. Crowd (3:08)
5. One Way Out (6:08)


For the first of their two nights at Atlanta's Chastain Park, the Allman Brothers Band gave the exuberant hometown crowd plenty to cheer about! The intense opening trio of "Don't Want You No More/Not My Cross To Bear," "I Walk on Gilded Splinters" and "Statesboro Blues" got the party started, with Gregg's voice sounding strong and powerful. "Revival" was the perfect sentiment for this weekend of music and fellowship, and this version is bursting with joyful noise. Warren got deep into the blues on "The Sky Is Crying," and "Les Brers" finished the first set with a bang!
That was just half the story, of course. Highlights from the second set included a scorching "Stand Back" with Derek tearing up the slide parts and an extended jam on "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl." Warren took the solo on "Dreams" and was very strong all night, both on guitar and vocals.
The high point may have been the spectacular "Mountain Jam," a freewheeling improvisational masterpiece that included teases of everything from Weather Report's "Birdland" to the Beatles' "Norwegian Wood" and Hendrix's "Third Stone From The Sun." Check out Derek's slide playing after the drum break as he soars like an eagle on wings of sound, and marvel at the way he and Warren trade licks back and forth, showing an unparalleled level of chemistry and musical communication. This may be the best "Mountain Jam" of recent years!



The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals





Search our store