The Allman Brothers Band: 2014-03-21 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 21, 2014

$ 14.95



1. Announcement 1 (0:36)
2. Mountain Jam (10:56) @
3. Statesboro Blues (5:23) @
4. Worried Down With The Blues (9:47)
5. Every Hungry Woman (8:30)
6. Seven Turns (5:16) @
7. Stand back (9:16)
8. Good Morning Little School Girl (11:54) # $
9. Jessica (14:02)

1. Little Martha (2:47)
2. Blue Sky (11:27)
3. Announcement 2 (0:47)
4. One Way Out (7:10) % ^
5. Who's Been Talking (9:49) # &
6. Franklin's Tower (9:31) #
7. Turn On Your Love Light (3:22) *
8. Franklin's Tower - reprise (1:37)
9. The Sky Is Crying (8:07) *

1. Hoochie Coochie Man (9:44)
2. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (14:45) # &
3. JaMaBuBu (7:45)
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - reprise (2:20)
5. Crowd noise (2:15)
6. Preachin' Blues (4:48)
7. Mountain Jam - reprise (11:32) #

@ = w/ Susan Tedeschi - Vocals
# = w/ Bill Evans - Saxophone
$ = w/ Cyril Neville - Percussion
% = w/ Devon Allman - Guitar & Vocals
^ = w/ Bernie Marsden - Guitar
& = w/ Kofi Burbridge - Flute
* = w/ Susan Tedeschi - Guitar & Vocals

Gregg Allman was sick and did not appear for this show.

Brother Gregg has been playing and singing up a storm all run. So you might think that his absence tonight (bronchitis) would cast a pall over the proceedings. But you’d be wrong. With this band, a little bit of adversity is like a speck of sand in an oyster’s craw; from the irritant comes a pearl. And so it was.

Kofi Burbridge and Rob Barraco sat in for Gregg all night, Kofi on organ, Rob across the stage on keys. And of course, there was a cavalcade of guests to help put the show over, with significant contributions from Susan Tedeschi and Bill Evans, both sitting in on large chunks of the show.

“Mountain Jam” was an auspicious opener, full of the guitarists’ favorite , melodic teases. “Statesboro” (with Warren singing) featured some nice Rob Barraco barrelhouse keyboard; and Kofi laid some sad soulful church organ on “Worried Down,” which also featured big fat soulful slide from Derek, and was as per usual a highlight. “Seven Turns” continues to delight; Susan joined the band midway through to sing Gregg’s answer vocal lines (”Someboday’s calling your name…”). “Stand Back” was perhaps the highlight of the set, not so much a song as a party. Barraco took the spotlight for some freeform jazz soloing, Susan sang the blazes out of it, Oteil took us to funkytown on a mid-song break.

“Schoolgirl” was a Warren tour de force, and featured Bill Evans on an extended, wild man sax run. Late in the song, Derek embarked on a descending run that pulled time down a rabbit hole; the band came out the other side, blazing hot. Then of course on “Jessica,” Barraco took the Chuck Leavell solo slot, infusing it with his signature rollicking attack.

A “Little Martha” > “Blue Sky” 1-2 punch opened the second set, with Barraco offering up a snoopy happy dance on the latter. Devon Allman and Bernie Marsden (Whitesnake, yo) sat in on “One Way Out,” with Devon singing in his dad’s stead. Kofi brought on an epic “Who’s Been Talkin’” with some jazzy flute, and Evans tarted it up with nasty sax. Then a “Franklin’s Tower” > “Lovelight” > Franklin’s Tower” segue that was an unabashed and happy highlight; Evans blew the roof off the house on the first run through “Franklin’s Tower;” Warren and Derek went into what seemed like a “Lovelight” tease, but soon the whole band had joined in and Susan came out to sing.

“Hoochie Coochie Man” started out as a slow blues a la Muddy Waters before they turned it over; and a sexy saxy “Elizabeth Reed” closed the set, featuring a thick redolent drum section. Finally “Preachin’ Blues” gave way to the back half of “Mountain Jam,” full of joy.” It was after midnight when we hit the street, euphoric.

The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store