The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-03-17 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 17, 2009

$ 14.95



1. Don't Want You No More (2:39)
2. It's Not My Cross To Bear (4:59)
3. Trouble No More (3:46)
4. Rockin' Horse (16:06)
5. Soulshine (7:24)
6. You Don't Love Me (6:38)
7. New Instrumental (11:47)

1. Announcements (1:44)
2. Please Be With Me (5:21) $ # &
3. Announcements (0:37)
4. All My Friends (5:42) $ #  
5. Announcements (0:28)
6. Everybody's Talking (5:10) $ # &
7. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes A Train to Cry (4:57) % &
8. Midnight Rider (3:23) %
9. Can't Find My Way Home (4:17) % &
10. Statesboro Blues (5:27)
11. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More (7:34)

1. Hoochie Coochie Man (8:23)
2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (5:00) # &
3. Black Hearted Woman (2:48)
4. JaMaBuBu (8:28)
5. Black Hearted Woman (reprise) (8:58)
6. Crowd noise (2:14)
7. One Way Out (6:33) $ & @

$ = w/ Tommy Talton, guitar and vocals

# = w/ Scott Boyer, guitar and vocals

& = w/ Brian Mitchell, keyboards

% = w/ Sheryl Crow, guitar and vocals

@ = w/ James Van De Bogert, drums

St. Patrick's Day in New York is always a fun occasion, and the 3/17 show lives up to that tradition! Superstar Sheryl Crow and Tommy Talton and Scott Boyer of Cowboy joined the band for this show, but the band were on fire before the first guest hit the stage. Check out the extended jam version of "Rocking Horse," which has evolved into a totally new song in recent years. The first "Soulshine" of the run featured a "Little Martha" jam, and "You Don't Love Me" and "New Instrumental" were extraordinary displays of musical mastery. And that was just the first part of the first set!

One of Duane Allman's most poignant performances was his dobro part on "Please Be With Me," so it was fitting for Talton and Boyer to join the band for this gem of a song. "All My Friends" and Talton's "The Got Song" were also tasty and well-received.  When Sheryl Crow hit the stage she added her signature vocals to "Midnight Rider," sung almost as a duet with Gregg, and a tender rendition of the Blind Faith classic "Can't Find My Way Home," which the ABB had never played before.

You can't talk about this show without mentioning Derek's solo on "Ain't Wastin' Time No More," a masterpiece of slow gradual buildup with a dizzying, Himalayan peak. Warren and Derek's guitar duel at the beginning of "Hoochie Coochie Man" isn't too bad either! 


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store