The Allman Brothers Band: 2009-03-19 Live at Beacon Theatre, New York, NY, March 19, 2009

$ 14.95


Customer Reviews

No reviews yet Write a review


1. Little Martha (4:00)
2. Statesboro Blues (5:16)
3. Done Somebody Wrong (5:46)
4. Revival (9:53)
5. Stage Banter (0:33)
6. Woman Across The River (10:40)
7. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ (4:26)
8. Whipping Post (18:34)

1. Oncoming Traffic (5:26)
2. Come and Go Blues (6:30)
3. Good Morning Little School Girl (12:07) $
4. Announcements (0:41)
5. Key To The Highway (5:10) %
6. Dreams (11:06) %

1. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (8:47) %
2. Little Wing (7:37) %
3. Announcements (0:47)
4. Anyday (6:53) % &
5. Crowd Noise (2:12)
6. Layla (7:18) % $

$ = Danny Louis, keyboards
% = Eric "Slowhand" Clapton, guitar and vocals
& = Susan Tedeschi, vocals

For years it had been a dream of many Allman Brothers fans, the ultimate best case scenarion. What if Eric Clapton joined the ABB on stage to play some of the songs that Duane Allman played on Layla? With Derek Trucks recently touring with Clapton, and this year's Beacon run being dedicated to Duane, the buzz was even stronger than usual this year.

Well, it is no longer just a fantasy, it really happened, and the results are beyond your wildest dreams! Speaking of which, besides the Layla material, check out EC on "Dreams"! The highlight of the whole Beacon run might be this version of "Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?" with Derek and Eric pushing each other into the stratosphere during the outro jam. Every bit as good as it sounds on paper, and so are "Little Wing" and "Anyday" with Clapton. The "Layla" encore belongs in a category of its own, with some of Derek's most sublime work on slide. A historic night of music for the ages!

And that doesn't even count the fantastic first set, which had a second set feel to it, especially the explosive "Whipping Post" closer. Gregg has never sounded better than he does on these versions of "Statesboro Blues" and "Done Somebody Wrong," and "Revival" keeps evolving into one of the band's best jamming showpieces. Did we mention Gregg's solo take on "Oncoming Traffic" to start the second set, or the blistering "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" with Danny Louis from Govt Mule on keys.

Step right up and get it while it's hot! Every day that goes by without hearing this music is a day you will regret later.


The Allman Brothers Band:

Gregg Allman - keys, vocals

Butch Trucks - drums

Jaimoe - drums

Oteil Burbridge - bass

Marc Quinones - percussion

Derek Trucks - guitar

Warren Haynes - guitar, vocals



Search our store